Spanish Honor Society has annual induction

The Newton Kansan
PUBLISHED: Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Los Ferroviarios (the Railroaders) Chapter of the Spanish National Honor Society had its Induction Ceremony and Reception Sunday in the Newton High School Auditorium. The Society, which is a national organization, recognizes high achievement in Spanish in secondary schools and promotes the continuing interest in Hispanic affairs.In order to qualify for membership, students must have completed four semesters of high school Spanish with a 4.0 grade point average, be currently enrolled in Spanish and have an overall 3.0 GPA.

The featured speaker for the ceremony this year was Debbie Palacioz, member of the USD 373 Board of Education. The sponsor of the Spanish Honor Society is Evelyn Gregg. Officers are: President Scott Rempel, Vice President Leah Bartel, Secretary Sheralynn Neff and Treasurer Kevin Leary.

(Click photo to enlarge.)

Officers of the NHS Spanish Honor Society unveil the new banner after the induction ceremony on Sunday. The banner was purchased with prize money the chapter received for being named the Best Chapter in the United States for short-tem programming last year. Left to right are Kevin Leary, Scott Rempel, Sheralynn Neff, and Leah Bartel.

The following students were inducted into the Spanish Honor Society for 2007-2008: Katelyn Alexander, Meghan Boston, Chloe Brackeen, Milissa Crawford, Tasha Garnica, Celeste Gomez, Jenae Janzen, Matt Krehbiel, Kelsey Lanzrath, Hannah Miller, William Newell, Krista Saylor, Lydia Seger, Samantha Smith, Shae’la Sterling and Danielle Tolle.

Qualifying for membership for the second year and receiving Spanish Honor Society pins were: Atiq Ahmadullah, Ajah Barnes, Leah Bartel, Phillip Bradshaw, Grace Choe, Ryan Clough, Michael Dukes, Mollie Emerson, Natalie Hagman, Amelia Harrison, Kylie Jantz, Katie Klock, Kevin Leary, Sheralynn Neff, Caroline Robb, Lindsay Vannaman and Jalayn Zehr.

Qualifying for membership for the third year and receiving Spanish Honor Society T-shirts were: Scott Rempel, Zach Roberts and Ruth Wiens.

Roger Erickson, vice principal of Newton High and honorary member of the society presented the certificates. Special recognition was given to the four students who traveled to Paraguay in the summer of 2007, Phillip Bradsahw, Leah Bartel, Kevin Leary and Megan Leary.

The new banner won by the chapter for being named the best chapter in the United States for short-term programming in the 2006-2007 school year was on the stage. A reception followed the ceremony in the commons.

%d bloggers like this: